Library Loan Policies
A few regulations are enforced for the benefit of all library patrons. Our primary interest is to insure the availability of library resources for everyone.
Loan Period & Renewals
Materials circulate for 21 days. Items may be renewed twice unless another person has requested the item, at which point it must be returned. Renewals may be made online by accessing your account in the library catalog or by calling the circulation desk at 345-6834. Any items less than a week overdue may be renewed online or by phone, but materials overdue by a week or more must be renewed in person at the library.
Fines will be charged on materials kept beyond the due date. Fines are 10 cents per day per item. Return the material even if you cannot pay the fine. Once an item is returned the fine will not increase, and we will charge the fine to your account. Overdue notices will be mailed to borrowers 10 to 16 days after the due date. Notify us if you move. Failure to receive a notice does not excuse a fine or the obligation to return library materials.
Lost & Damaged Materials
Lost library materials are the borrowers’ responsibility. In addition to the replacement cost of the item, a fee of $5.00 will be charged to cover processing costs. Notify the library immediately if you lose any items. Borrowers are also responsible for any damage done to material in their possession.
Charging out Materials
All library materials must be charged out before they leave the library. Student and employee ID cards and community patron library cards are affixed with a barcode, and used to check out material. Do not allow others to use your ID, as you are responsible for any materials charged to your card.
Certain materials are non-circulating, and do not leave the library. These include reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers, reserve items, and microfilm. These may be photocopied. Two copiers are provided for patron use. They accept coins and one-dollar bills. For larger bills, you must go to the Business office for change.
New York State Education Law – Section 265
“whoever willfully detains a book…or other property belonging to any public or incorporated library, reading-room, museum or other educational institution, for thirty days after notice in writing to return the same… shall be punished by a fine of not less than one nor more than $25.00, or by imprisonment in jail not exceeding six months…”
Confidentiality of Library Records
The GCC library respects the privacy of all who use our collections and services. The library adheres to the college’s FERPA policy and supports and complies with the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association as well as the relevant NY State laws governing library records, including section 4509 of the New York State Civil Practice Law & Rules, which states: Library records, which contain names or other personally identifying details regarding the users of public, free association, school, college and university libraries and library systems of this state, including but not limited to records related to the circulation of library materials, computer database searches, interlibrary loan transactions, reference queries, requests for photocopies of library materials, title reserve requests, or the use of audio-visual materials, films or records, shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed except that such records may be disclosed to the extent necessary for the proper operation of such library and shall be disclosed upon request or consent of the user or pursuant to subpoena, court order or where otherwise required by statute. For further information contact the Associate Dean – Library and Academic Support Services.