Skip to Content

Driving Programs

Defensive Driving

Our Defensive Driving course provides insurance and point-reduction benefits – in our classroom or online – the choice is yours!  You may receive up to a four-point reduction on your driving record and a minimum 10% reduction in the base rate of your automobile and motorcycle liability and collision insurance premiums each year for three years.  Points remain on your record but are not counted in determining administrative actions.  To receive lower insurance rates, you must be listed as the principal operator of the vehicle.  If classroom dates are not convenient for you at this time, enroll in our NSC Online course online.  Point and insurance reduction benefits are also provided through the online program.  The National Safety Council is the sponsoring agency for this course. Pre-registration and full payment is required to attend this course.  No walk-ins will be permitted.

Driver Pre-Licensing

Our Driver Pre-Licensing program is the New York State required 5-hour course mandatory for anyone signing up for a NYS road test.  It will include defensive driving techniques, safety belt requirements, and new laws affecting drivers who drink.  Students will receive the MV-278 certificate upon completion.  Students must have a valid NYS driver's permit. Pre-registration and full payment is required to attend this course.  No walk-ins will be permitted.

Driver Education

Driver & Traffic Safety Education is a course implemented via a joint partnership between the New York State Education Department (NYSED), and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  The Driver Education course is intended to educate students (age 16 or older) on appropriate driving skills and habits as well as playing a responsible role in the highway transportation/safety system.  The primary purpose of Driver Education is defensive driving and accident prevention.  Basic skills, essential for passing the NYS Road Test and advanced techniques are taught.  Students who satisfactorily complete the course are eligible to sit for their road test and receive the MV-285: Student Certificate of Completion.  Students must have a valid NYS driver’s permit or license. 

We offer the course during the SUMMER semester at the Batavia Campus of GCC.  The course typcially runs from the end of June/beginning of July through the middle of August.  Class is limited and registration opens April 1st.  Pre-registration and full payment is required to attend this course.  No walk-ins will be permitted.

Class group and driving schedules will be established during the orientation meeting prior to the start of the program.  Vacation or camp days should NOT be scheduled during the six-week program.  Make-ups are not possible due to the scheduling retraints and the need to ensure that mandated class and in-car instructional hours are met.

Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

If your license or privilege to drive in New York State is suspended or revoked for an alcohol or drug-related driving conviction, you may be eligible for a conditional driver’s license or full restoration of your driving privileges if you participate in New York State’s Impaired Driver Program (IDP). To enroll in the Impaired Driver Program you must bring your driver’s license or proof of identity with payment of $75 to any New York State Department of Motor Vehicle. An additional fee of $234 is required to attend the program at Genesee Community College. *All fees subject to change.

As a IDP participant, you must attend all seven weekly classroom sessions for a total of sixteen hours. Class participants must report to class on time and are expected to participate actively in the program, including completion of assignments. If a student misses the class they must contact the Director or Coordinator of the program to make-up this class. Failure to complete all phases (including evaluation/treatment, if required) of the program will result in loss of your conditional license. The original suspension or revocation will then be fully reinstated.

Contact the GCC Impaired Driver Program Coordinator, Tina Marsceill by emailing smarsceill@genesee.edu or by calling 585-343-0055 ext. 6347 for further information.